Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20510

August 27, 2015

The Honorable Barack Obama President of the United States The White House Washington, D. C.

Dear Mr. President:

We write to support Illinois Governor Bruce Rauner's request for a U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) Disaster Declaration for Grundy and Iroquois Counties in Illinois, as a result of a string of severe storms that began on June 7, 2015, and continued through mid-July.

For more than six weeks, Illinois experienced severe weather events, including flooding and tornadoes, which occurred no more than 48-hours apart. Preliminary Damage Assessments have determined that in Grundy County, 36 residences and four businesses sustained major damage and had significant uninsured losses. In Iroquois County, 18 residences, ten businesses, and one non-profit organization sustained major damage and had significant uninsured losses. The economic impact on these communities as a result of businesses being destroyed is severe. The Governor seeks timely federal assistance from the SBA.

Governor Rauner has determined that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that effective response is beyond the capabilities of the state and local governments. Supplementary federal assistance is necessary. We respectfully request that you issue an SBA Disaster Declaration for Grundy and Iroquois Counties and that the SBA disaster loans be offered to eligible individuals and businesses in the counties that are contiguous to Grundy and Iroquois Counties.

We thank you in advance for your timely consideration of this important request and stand ready to assist in any way appropriate.

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Adam Kinzinger United States Representative

Sincerely,

Mark Kirk

United States Senator

Robin Kelly

United States Representative

Mike Bost United States Representative

anny d Onio

Danny K. Davis United States Representative

Robert J. Dold United States Representative

oster

Bill Foster United States Representative

and

Randy Hultgren United States Representative

Michael Quigley United States Representative

Bobby L. Rush United States Representative

John Shimkus United States Representative

Kitos

Cheri Bustos United States Representative

Rodney Davis United States Representative

church amm

Tammy Duckworth United States Representative

allow

Luis V. Gutierrez United States Representative

Daniel Lipinski United States Representative

la

Peter Roskam United States Representative

Jan Schakowsky United States Representative

###