Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

August 29, 2023

The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr. President of the United States 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC

Dear Mr. President:

We write in support of Illinois Governor JB Pritzker's request for federal assistance for the State of Illinois, to help 27 counties recover from storm damage that occurred from late June to early July.

Governor Pritzker has indicated that this incident is of such severity and magnitude that an effective response is beyond the capabilities of the State and local governments. He requests Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Public Assistance to aid recovery in the following counties: Adams, Calhoun, Christian, Clark, Coles, Cumberland, DeWitt, Douglas, Edgar, Greene, Hancock, Logan, Macon, Macoupin, McDonough, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Moultrie, Piatt, Pike, Sangamon, Scott, St. Clair, Vermilion, Warren, and Washington. He also requests federal disaster assistance through the Small Business Administration (SBA), including low-interest disaster loan access, for these counties as well as those contiguous to them.

During this period, severe storms passed through Illinois producing heavy rainfall, flash flooding, hail, tornadoes, and straight-line winds. A derecho yielding five tornadoes also passed through Central Illinois, with winds exceeding 100 miles per hour in several counties. This severe weather resulted in significant power outages and roadway interruptions due to flooding. Subsequent damage has impacted homeowners, businesses, and local governments. As such, the Governor seeks timely federal assistance from FEMA.

Thank you in advance for your timely consideration of this important request. We stand ready to assist in any way appropriate.

Sincerely,

United States Senator

United States Senator

Tammy Virekwatt

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

nathan L. Jackson

Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly

Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi

Member of Congress

Darin LaHood

Member of Congress

Mary E Miller

Mary E. Miller Member of Congress Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Eric Sorensen
Member of Congress

Lauren Underwood Member of Congress