Durbin, Duckworth Announce More than $147 Million to Support Community Services in Illinois as Part of COVID-19 Relief Package

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) today announced that Illinois will receive more than $147 million in federal funding from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The funding was provided through the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security Act (CARES Act), which was signed into law last week and will be distributed across Illinois through HUD’s Community Development Block Grant (CDGB) program and Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) program.

“I’m glad the Senate came together on a bipartisan basis to unanimously pass a historic funding bill, which will help Illinois respond to this unprecedented public health crisis and provide additional resources to help state and local governments combat this pandemic," Durbin said. “Families and individuals who are homeless or at risk of experiencing homelessness are among our state’s most vulnerable. It’s imperative that we provide additional support during this crisis. Senator Duckworth and I will continue working to provide increased federal assistance during this challenging time.”

“The CARES Act stimulus provides much-needed support and relief for workers, small business owners, hospitals, health care providers and Illinois families,” Duckworth said. “During this public health crisis and as more Illinoisans need to be able to isolate to keep themselves and their families healthy, affordable housing is even more crucial to helping some of the most vulnerable residents of our state. I’m proud to announce this stimulus funding with Senator Durbin and I’ll keep working with him, Governor Pritzker and local officials to help Illinois get through this pandemic.”

Community Development Block Grants

The CARES Act provided an additional $5 billion for the Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) program to help states, counties, and cities to rapidly respond to COVID-19 and the economic and housing impacts caused by it, including the expansion of community health facilities, child care centers, food banks, and senior services. In Illinois, the following communities will receive CDBG funding:

  • Arlington Heights: $164,062
  • Aurora: $902,078
  • Berwyn: $755,917
  • Bloomington: $329,144
  • Champaign: $591,549
  • Chicago: $46,770,307
  • Cicero: $1,001,910
  • Danville: $593,099
  • Decatur: $834,287
  • Dekalb: $271,899
  • Des Plaines: $180,767
  • Elgin: $510,869
  • Evanston: $1,080,243
  • Hoffman Estates: $145,053
  • Joliet: $563,076
  • Kankakee: $345,619
  • Moline : $478,057
  • Mount Prospect: $154,667
  • Naperville: $315,985
  • Normal: $246,067
  • Oak Lawn: $180,824
  • Oak Park: $980,107
  • Palatine Village: $303,119
  • Pekin: $248,357
  • Peoria: $1,087,562
  • Rantoul: $203,224
  • Rockford: $1,277,632
  • Rock Island: $649,119
  • Schaumburg: $217,873
  • Skokie: $361,988
  • Springfield: $799,156
  • Urbana: $294,966
  • Waukegan: $470,215
  • Cook County: $6,420,182
  • DuPage County: $2,294,733
  • Kane County: $796,783
  • Lake County: $1,709,120
  • Mchenry County: $830,790
  • Madison County: $1,755,949
  • St Clair County: $2,154,333
  • Will County: $1,244,264
  • Illinois Nonentitlement: $17,842,842

Emergency Solutions Grants

The CARES Act provided an additional $4 billion to support the Emergency Solutions Grants (ESG) program. This funding will be used to address the impact of COVID-19 among individuals and families who are homeless or at risk of homelessness, and to support additional homeless assistance, prevention, and eviction prevention assistance. The following communities will receive ESG funding:

  • Chicago: $23,712,993
  • Cicero: $520,731
  • Evanston: $546,424
  • Peoria: $535,321
  • Rockford: $636,693
  • Cook County: $3,049,979
  • DuPage County: $1,031,548 
  • Lake County: $777,472
  • Will County: $503,772
  • Illinois Nonentitlement: $18,159,983