Durbin Announces More Than $2.2 Million In FEMA Grants To Illinois Fire Departments

[WASHINGTON, DC] – U.S. Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL) announced today that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), part of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), has awarded 34 grants totaling $2,214,972 to fire departments and emergency medical service organizations throughout Illinois for vehicle acquisition, operations, and safety.


“Our nation's firefighters are called upon day after day to protect America's citizens,” Durbin said. “As these brave men and women put themselves in harm’s way, we must ensure that they are equipped with the best tools possible to do their jobs well, and today’s grant will go a long way toward meeting that goal.”


The funding is provided through the DHS’s Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) Program which seeks to strengthen the Nation’s overall level of preparedness and ability to respond to fire and fire related hazards. Since 2001, AFG has provided approximately $4 billion to first-responder organizations to purchase response equipment, personal protective equipment, training, and vehicles.


Under this announcement, the following fire departments and emergency medical service organizations will receive funding:


Chicago Metro Area

Bellwood Fire Department, $36,072; Bensenville Fire Protection District 2, $94,482; Geneva Fire Department, $38,295; Greater Round Lake Fire Protection District, $108,480; Gurnee Fire Department, $134,100; Lombard Fire Department, $15,300; Pleasantview Fire Protection District, $24,653; Wheeling Fire Department, $30,600.


Northern Illinois

Rock City Fire Protection District, $28,500; Sublette Fire Protection District, $19,019.


Central Illinois

Chatham Fire Protection District, $17,936; Eureka-Goodfield Fire Protection District, $36,575; Galesburg Fire Department, $81,270; Gardner Volunteer Fire Department, $20,010; Kewanee Fire Department, $369,201; Kilbourne Fire Protection District, $19,672; Lexington Fire Protection District, $37,050; Long Creek Fire Protection District, $76,475; Mendota Fire Department, $53,770; Morris Fire Protection & Ambulance District, $82,840; Philo Fire Protection District, $39,530; Reading Township Volunteer Fire Department, $83,363; Roanoke Fire Protection District, $38,000; Saunemin Fire Protection District, $61,750; Taylorville Fire Department, $27,075; Tuscarora Fire Department, $16,218; Witt Volunteer Fire Department, $224,200.


Southern Illinois

Centralia Fire Protection District, $83,600; Pulaski Volunteer Fire Department, $156,822; Sugar Creek Ambulance Service, $13,327; Tilden Fire Protection District, $50,493; Village of Ridgway Fire Department, $40,932; Westfield Fire Protection District, $33,155.


Metro East

Northwest St. Clair Co. F.P.D., $22,207.