Durbin Announces $1.5 Million in Continuing Grants for Illinois Drug-Free Community Coalitions

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL) announced today that 14 Illinois communities would receive continuing grants as part of the Drug-Free Communities program. The grants, totaling approximately $1.5 million will assist local community coalitions as they work to prevent and reduce youth substance use.


The Drug-Free Communities Support (DFC) program is directed by the White House Office of National Drug Control Policy. The DFC program provides coalition matching grants of up to $625,000 over five years to community organizations that facilitate civic participation in local drug prevention efforts. Coalitions are comprised of community leaders, parents, youth, teachers, health care workers, businesses and law enforcement professionals.


The DFC program was created by Congress in 1997 and has awarded approximately 1,500 Drug-Free Communities grants to local communities in all 50 states.


Illinois communities receiving funding are:


Brighton Park Drug-Free Community Coalition - Chicago, IL ($100,000)

Lake Mills Community Task Force Against Substance Abuse - Lake Mills, IL ($98,648)

Coalition for Healthy Communities – Waukegan, IL ($100,000)

Community Partnership Coalition – Woodstock, IL ($125,000)

Tri-Cities Drug-Free Communities Coalition - Granite City, IL ($100,000)

Marion Partnership for Youth - Marion, IL ($91,000)

Alton Youth Development Strategy Partnership - Alton, IL ($99,281)

Team 10 – Maryville, IL ($124,000)

CAMA Inc. – Paris, IL ($98,686)

Heartland Coalition for Youth and Family – Bloomington, IL ($100,000)

Decatur Drug-Free Community Coalition – Decatur, IL ($125,000)

Adams County Substance Abuse Coalition - Quincy, IL ($125,000)

Menard County School and Community Task Force – Springfield, IL ($111,426)

Mission Possible Coalition – Mt. Vernon, IL ($99,996)