Durbin Announces $4.7 Million in Recovery Act Funding to Provide Emergency Food and Shelter

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL) today announced that Illinois will receive $4,735,727 in funding through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act to supplement and expand efforts to provide shelter, food and supportive services to the hungry, homeless and people in economic crisis. The funds will be distributed through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)’s Emergency Food and Shelter National Board Program and used for supplemental food, shelter, rent, mortgage and utility assistance programs for people with economic, rather than natural disaster-related, emergencies.


Today’s funding is part of an announcement by FEMA of $100 million in Recovery Act funding nationwide for the Emergency Food and Shelter Program. The funds are used to provide the following services: food, in the form of served meals or groceries; lodging in a mass shelter or hotel; one month’s rent, mortgage and / or utility payment; transportation costs associated with the provision of food or shelter; minimal repairs to mass feeding or sheltering facilities for building code violations or for handicapped accessibility; and supplies and equipment necessary to feed or shelter people.


The following Illinois communities will receive funding:


Chicago Metro Area Recipients


Cook County, $862,934; Chicago, $1,028,966; DuPage County, $296,206; Grundy County $21,223; Kane County, $187,787; Kendall County, $37,735; Lake County, $269,834; and Will County, $250,122.


Northern Illinois Recipients


Boone County, $29,114; Carroll County, $6,452; DeKalb County, $39,204; Lee County, $14,239; Ogle County, $24,486; Stephenson County, $20,243; Whiteside County, $23,235; and Winnebago County, $145,726.


Central Illinois Recipients


Adams County, $20,858; Cass County, $4,524; Champaign County, $63,638; Christian County, $13,614; Coles County, $18,711; Edgar County, $8,183; Fulton County, $13,436; Greene County, $4,774; Hancock County, $7,849; Henderson County, $3,263; Iroquois County, $12,717; Kankakee County, $52,578; Knox County, $18,523; La Salle County, $52,245; Logan County, $10,017; McDonough County, $9,934; McLean County, $49,232; Macon County, $42,592; Macoupin County, $20,535; Mason County, $6,577; Mercer County, $6,901; Montgomery County, $13,249; Peoria County, $63,492; Pike County, $5,546; Rock Island County, $49,357; Sangamon County, $67,484; Shelby County, $8,329; and Vermillion County, $33,367.


Southern Illinois Recipients


Alexander County, $3,336; Bond County, $6,630; Clark County, $7,922; Clay County, $5,691; Crawford County, $7,255; Cumberland County, $4,701; Fayette County, $9,319; Franklin County, $19,034; Hamilton County, $3,263; Jackson County, $20,431; Jefferson County, $14,854; Johnson County, $4,514; Lawrence County, $6,890; Marion County, $17,773; Massac County, $5,931; Perry County, $10,393; Randolph County, $11,581; Richland County, $5,577; Saline County, $11,352; Union County, $7,964; Wabash County, $5,191; Wayne County, $6,025; White County, $5,712; and Williamson County, $27,457.


St. Louis Metro Area Recipients


Madison County, $103,801 and St. Clair County, $106,553.