Durbin Announces Nearly $4.2 Million in FEMA Grants to Illinois Fire Departments

[WASHINGTON, DC] – U.S. Sen. Dick Durbin (D-IL) announced today that the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA), part of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), has awarded 24 grants totaling $4,170,473 to fire departments throughout Illinois for vehicle acquisition, operations, and safety.

“Our nation's firefighters are called upon day after day to protect America's citizens,” Durbin said. “As these brave men and women put themselves in harm’s way, we must ensure that they are equipped with the best resources possible to do their jobs well, and today’s grants will help meet that goal.”

The funding is provided through the DHS’s Assistance to Firefighters Grant (AFG) Program which seeks to strengthen the Nation’s overall level of preparedness and ability to respond to fire and fire related hazards.  Since 2001, AFG has provided approximately $4 billion to first-responder organizations to purchase response equipment, personal protective equipment, training, and vehicles.  Under this announcement, the following fire departments will receive funding:

Chicago Metro Area

            Burlington Community Fire Protection District, $4,750; Calumet Park Fire Department, 2 grants totaling $647,119; Carpentersville Fire Department, $96,750; Countryside Fire Protection District, $210,777; La Grange Park Fire Department, $105,260; Lakewood Fire Department, $530,550; Nunda Rural Fire Protection District, $53,675; Park Ridge Fire Department, $15,147; River Grove Fire Department, $355,300; University Park Fire Department, $617,500; Western Springs Department of Fire & EMS, $38,000.

Northern Illinois

            Mt. Morris Fire Protection District, $67,688; Stillman Fire Protection District, $150,612.

Central Illinois

            Camp Point Fire Protection District, $194,750; Dawson Fire Protection District, $69,954; Spring Bay Fire Protection District, $38,000; Westville Area Fire Protection District, $110,010.

Southern Illinois

            Aviston Fire Protection District, $190,000; Coello Fire Department, $40,850; Karnak Volunteer Fire Department, $85,572.

Metro East

            Collinsville Fire Department, $386,744; Millstadt Rural Fire District, $66,571; Valmeyer Fire Protection District, $94,894.