Durbin Announces Nearly $600,000 in Recovery Act Funding for Emergency Preparedness in Cook and Peoria Counties

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – Assistant Senate Majority Leader Dick Durbin (D-IL) today announced that the Department of Energy (DOE) has awarded three Local Energy Assurance Planning (LEAP) grants to Chicago, Hoffman Estates, and Peoria totaling $598,556 through the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. 


The grants will allow local governments to expand their capabilities to respond to a variety of energy emergencies including blackouts, hurricanes, floods, ice storms, and possible terrorist attacks. This funding is part of more than $8 million in LEAP grants allocated to 43 towns and cities nationwide through a competitive grant process by the DOE. 


The following local governments will receive funding:


  • $300,000 in funding to Chicago, Illinois; 
  • $98,556 in funding to Hoffman Estates, Illinois;
  • $200,000 in funding to Peoria, Illinois.