Durbin Cosponsors Legislation To Make Payroll Tax Deferral Optional, Including for Military Members And Federal Employees

SPRINGFIELD  Today, U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) joined Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD) in announcing legislation to make the payroll tax deferral outlined by President Trump optional for any worker whose employer chooses to participate, including federal employees and service members. The legislation, which can be found here, is cosponsored by more than 14 of the Senators’ colleagues.

“Because Fortune 500 companies and state governments are rejecting President Trump’s poorly thought-out payroll tax deferral, he has cornered federal employees and SERVICE members into this fiscally irresponsible tax scheme to save face. At the end of the day, public servants should be able to opt out of this policy and make sound financial decisions that make sense for their families and their pocketbooks,” said Durbin.

This legislation is also cosponsored by Senators Ron Wyden (D-OR), Mark Warner (D-VA), Ed Markey (D-MA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Michael Bennet (D-CO), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Patty Murray (WA), and Dianne Feinstein (D-CA).

The legislation is supported by a number of organizations, including: the American Federation of Government Employees, the National Treasury Employees Union, the International Federation of Professional and Technical Engineers, the National Federation of Federal Employees, the Federal Employee Education and Assistance Fund, the Senior Executives Association, the Federal Managers Association, the Professional Managers Association, National Association of Assistant United States Attorneys, United Power Trades Organization, Antilles Consolidated Education Association, National Weather Service Employees Organization, Patent Office Professional Association, National Association of Government Employees, National Education Association, Social Security Works, Professional Aviation Safety Specialists, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees (AFSCME), Americans for Tax Fairness, and National Active and Retired Federal Employees Association.