Durbin, Duckworth Announce $170 Million For Housing And Homeless Assistance In Chicagoland Area

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) today announced that Chicagoland communities will receive a total of $170 million in federal grants from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) for affordable housing and homelessness programs.

“These federal programs are critically important to addressing homelessness and housing insecurity throughout the Chicagoland area,” Durbin said. “I will continue fighting alongside Senator Duckworth for federal funding that promotes the health and well-being of all Illinoisans.”

“Children and families in need all across Illinois rely on investments like these that help improve housing conditions and reduce homelessness,” Duckworth said. “Along with Senator Durbin, I’m proud to support federal funding for programs that foster safe communities and help ensure all Illinoisans have access to the affordable housing they need to get ahead.”

Community Development Block Grants

The Community Development Block Grants (CDBG) program provides annual grants to states and local units of government to develop viable urban communities by providing decent housing and a suitable living environment, and by expanding economic opportunities, principally for low- and moderate-income individuals. The following communities will receive CDBG funding:

  • Arlington Heights: $278,890
  • Aurora: $1,533,450
  • Berwyn: $1,284,998
  • Chicago: $79,503,555
  • Cicero: $1,703,195
  • DeKalb: $462,204
  • Des Plaines: $307,288
  • Elgin: $868,430
  • Evanston: $1,836,315
  • Hoffman Estates: $246,577
  • Joliet: $957,178
  • Kankakee: $587,531
  • Mount Prospect: $262,920
  • Naperville: $537,144
  • Oak Lawn: $307,383
  • Oak Park: $1,666,079
  • Palatine Village: $515,274
  • Schaumburg Village: $370,365
  • Skokie: $615,368
  • Waukegan: $799,322
  • Cook County: $10,913,700
  • DuPage County: $3,900,835
  • Kane County: $1,354,457
  • Lake County: $2,905,363
  • McHenry County: $1,412,266
  • Will County: $2,115,135

Emergency Shelter Grants

The Emergency Shelter Grants (ESG) program provides funding to engage homeless individuals and families living on the street; improve the number, quality, and operations of emergency shelters for homeless individuals and families; provide essential services to shelter residents, rapidly re-house homeless individuals and families, and prevent families and individuals from becoming homeless. The following communities will receive ESG funding:

  • Chicago: $6,876,768
  • Cicero: $151,012
  • Evanston: $158,463
  • Cook County: $884,494
  • DuPage County: $299,149
  • Lake County: $225,467
  • Will County: $146,094

HOME Investment Partnerships Program

The HOME Investment Partnerships program helps to expand the supply of decent, affordable housing to low- and very low-income families by providing grants to states and local governments to fund housing programs that meet local needs and priorities. The following communities will receive HOME funding:

  • Aurora: $737,226
  • Chicago: $20,123,948
  • Evanston: $364,350
  • Cook County: $6,671,056
  • DuPage County: $1,806,398
  • Kane County: $937,667
  • Lake County: $1,670,311
  • McHenry County: $616,009
  • Will County: $1,254,075

Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program

The HOPWA program provides housing assistance and related supportive services to local units of government, States, and non-profit organizations for projects that benefit low-income persons medically diagnosed with HIV/AIDS and their families. The following community will receive HOPWA funding:

  • Chicago: $10,570,599