Durbin, Duckworth, Bustos Announce Nearly $3 Million For Rock Island Mass Transit

WASHINGTON -- U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) and U.S. Congresswoman Cheri Bustos (D-IL-17) today announced $2.9 million in grant funding for the Rock Island Co. Metropolitan Mass Transit District (MetroLINK). The funding, awarded by the Federal Transit Administration’s (FTA) Low or No Emission (Low-No) Bus Program, will be used to purchase new low-emission transit buses.

“The funding announced today will not only create a better experience for the thousands of people who rely on MetroLINK, it is also a strategic investment in environmentally-friendly infrastructure,” Durbin said. “I’ll continue to work with Senator Duckworth and Representative Bustos to invest in our state’s public transportation.”

“This federal funding will go a long way towards creating an environmentally-sustainable future for Rock Island’s transit system and for the riders who depend on it,” said Duckworth. “I'm proud to work with Senator Durbin and Representative Bustos to support low-emission buses for MetroLink and I'll keep advocating for additional investments that will help modernize our state's transportation systems.”

“I’m pleased to join Senators Durbin and Duckworth today to announce this investment in Rock Island County’s transportation infrastructure,” Bustos said. “These federal dollars will help bring cleaner, more-efficient transit to riders. I’ll continue to work to strengthen our infrastructure and invest in our communities.” 

MetroLINK serves the Illinois Quad Cities and its neighboring areas: Rock Island, Moline, East Moline, Milan, Silvis, Carbon Cliff, Hampton and Colona.