Durbin, Duckworth, Colleagues Introduce Resolution To Protect Ambitious National Fuel Economy And Greenhouse Gas Emissions Standards

WASHINGTON— U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) joined Senator Kamala Harris (D-CA) and 31 colleagues in reintroducing a Senate resolution in response to the Trump Administration’s efforts to roll back federal fuel economy and greenhouse gas standards designed to fight climate change and protect Americans’ access to clean air.  Durbin, Duckworth, and their colleagues are reintroducing the resolution in advance of the Administration’s expected move to formally revoke California’s authority to set its own automobile emission standards.

“Climate change is one of the gravest threats we face today, and the Trump Administration is blatantly disregarding this threat by rolling back these environmental regulations and preventing states from taking action on auto emissions,” said Durbin.  “If we want our children to inherit a habitable planet with clean air, we need to get serious about tackling climate change head on.”

“This move by the Trump Administration will harm our nation’s air quality and create unnecessary confusion for our nation’s automobile industry,” Duckworth said. “We should be making it easier for Americans to switch to cleaner, alternative fuel vehicles, but President Trump has chosen to make it more difficult by preventing states from tackling auto emissions and taking the lead on addressing climate change.”

In addition to Durbin, Duckworth, and Harris, the resolution is co-sponsored by Senators Feinstein (D-CA), Markey (D-MA), Blumenthal (D-CT), Cortez Masto (D-NV), Cantwell (D-WA), Merkley (D-OR), Booker (D-NJ), Schatz (D-HI), Hassan (D-NH), Carper (D-DE), Bennet (D-CO), Van Hollen (D-MD), Coons (D-DE), Warren (D-MA), Gillibrand (D-NY), Hirono (D-HI), Baldwin (D-WI), Sanders (I-VT), Reed (D-RI), Smith (D-MN), Klobuchar (D-MN), Cardin (D-MD), Wyden (D-OR), Kaine (D-VA), Whitehouse (D-RI), Leahy (D-VT), Shaheen (D-NH), Udall (D-NM), Casey (D-PA), Menendez (D-NJ), and Murray (D-WA). 

For the full text of the resolution, click here.