Durbin, Duckworth Introduce Resolution To Protect People With Pre-existing Conditions

WASHINGTON U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) today joined Senate and House Democrats to unveil a Congressional Review Act (CRA) resolution that would roll back the 1332 waiver rule, another Trump Administration effort to sabotage Americans’ health care and another attack on the 130 million Americans—including approximately five million Illinoisans—who rely on the critical pre-existing condition protections the Administration is trying to eliminate.  The Trump rule, if left in place, would allow states to greenlight substandard, junk insurance plans that do not fully protect people with pre-existing conditions, do not cover essential health benefits like prescription drugs and maternity coverage, and raise costs on many American families.  Under the Congressional Review Act, this resolution must be considered within 60 legislative days of July 15 and can pass the Senate with the support of a simple majority of Senators.  

“Despite what the President wants you to think in his tweets, his Administration is hell bent on abolishing the Affordable Care Act and the landmark health care protections—especially for people with pre-existing conditions—that came with it,” Durbin said. “We can never go back to the dark days when having a pre-existing condition—such as asthma, heart disease, an allergy, or a history of cancer—could render you uninsurable. That’s why I’m joining with Senate Democrats in introducing this resolution.”

“This Trump Administration rule abandons critical protections that millions of Americans rely on by eroding the requirements that health insurance plans cover services like prescription drugs, emergency room visits and maternity care,” Duckworth said. “Senator Durbin and I will not stop working to prevent insurers from once again discriminating against the sick and those with pre-existing conditions. I’m proud to support this resolution that would scrap this harmful rule and call on my colleagues across the aisle to join our efforts.” 

Durbin, Duckworth, and all 47 Senate Democrats cosponsored the resolution.

The following organizations support the resolution: National Multiple Sclerosis Society, American Heart Association, Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Pulmonary Hypertension Association, Mended Little Hearts, Hemophilia Federation of America, Chronic Disease Coalition, American Diabetes Association, American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network, Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation, National Organization for Rare Disorders, WomenHeart: the National Coalition for Women with Heart Disease, Susan G. Komen, Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation, COPD Foundation, Muscular Dystrophy Association, National Hemophilia Foundation, Arthritis Foundation, Leukemia & Lymphoma Society, National Psoriasis Foundation, Alpha-1 Foundation, ALS Association, National Alliance on Mental Illness, Immune Deficiency Foundation, March of Dimes, American Liver Foundation, National Health Council, National Patient Advocate Foundation, Protect Our Care, and the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship.