Durbin, Duckworth Meet With Illinois Community College Trustees Association

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL) and U.S. Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL) today met virtually with board members, presidents, staff, and students from the Illinois Community College Trustee Association (ICCTA) to discuss continued support for community colleges. The Senators expressed their support for increasing the Pell grant and assistance for students’ basic needs. In addition, they discussed the nursing shortage and support for undocumented students.

“Our community colleges have always offered a vital service to Illinoisans – a high quality education at a great price. But as the pandemic continues to impact students and educational institutions, I spoke with the Illinois Community College Trustee Association today about how the federal government can offer robust support to students and institutions,” said Durbin. “I’ve always taken my position as an advocate for our students seriously, and I will continue to push for increasing the Pell grant and accessibility to higher education.”

“I had a productive conversation with Senator Durbin and several representatives from Illinois community colleges about the importance of uplifting these institutions and their students,” said Duckworth. “I’ll continue working with Senator Durbin to help ensure that higher education is an attainable, affordable opportunity for all students—especially students of color, student parents, women and Veterans.

A photo of the virtual meeting is available here.

Board members, presidents, staff, and students attended from:

  • Black Hawk College
  • College of DuPage
  • College of Lake County
  • Danville Area Community College
  • Harper College
  • Heartland Community College
  • Highland Community College
  • Illinois Central College
  • John A. Logan College
  • Kaskaskia College
  • Lake Land College
  • Lewis & Clark Community College
  • Lincoln Land Community College
  • Malcolm X College
  • Moraine Valley Community College
  • Oakton Community College
  • Parkland College
  • Prairie State College
  • Richland Community College
  • Southeastern Illinois College