Durbin, Grassley Introduce Bipartisan Resolution To Celebrate 100 Years Of Diplomatic Relations Between United States And Baltic States

Bipartisan resolution also reaffirms U.S. commitment to NATO amid Russian aggression

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL) and U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Co-Chairs of the Senate Baltic Freedom Caucus, led 17 of their Senate colleagues in introducing a bipartisan resolution to celebrate 100 years of diplomatic relations with the Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania. The resolution also reaffirms the United States’ commitment to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) amid increasing Russian aggression in Eastern Europe.


“This year we celebrate 100 years of diplomatic relations between the U.S. and the Baltic States. I applaud the courage and resilience of the people of Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania in their fight for freedom and democracy in the face of aggression by Russia.  Not only do I have strong personal ties to the region, but these countries are essential NATO partners in upholding democratic values abroad.  I look forward to our continued work and that the next 100 years build on the friendship and positive achievements made between our nations,” Durbin said.


“I am glad to help mark 100 years of continuous diplomatic relations between Estonia, Latvia, and Lithuania and the United States. This milestone is significant because it shines a light on the history of these countries, which never gave up on freedom even during 50 years of occupation, and their enduring bond with the United States based over shared values. Today, each Baltic country is a vibrant, free-market democracy with a bright future. I look forward to what the next 100 years holds,” Grassley said.


Along with Durbin and Grassley, the resolution is also cosponsored by Senators Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Chris Murphy (D-CT), John Boozman (R-AR), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mike Braun (R-IN), Susan Collins (R-ME), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), John Barrasso (R-WY), Thom Tillis (R-NC),Ted Cruz (R-TX), Chris Coons (D-DE), Ben Cardin (D-MD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Jack Reed (D-RI), and Debbie Stabenow (D-MI).


Full text of the resolution is available here.