Durbin, Kirk Congratulate Blackhawks on Winning the Stanley Cup

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) and U.S. Senator Mark Kirk (R-IL) today congratulated the Chicago Blackhawks after they captured the Stanley Cup for the second time in four seasons last night with a thrilling 3-2 victory over the Boston Bruins. The Senators also introduced a resolution praising the Chicago Blackhawks for winning the 2013 Stanley Cup (see attached).


Durbin said:


“The Chicago Blackhawks are Stanley Cup Champions once again with yet another dramatic finish.  In 2010, it was Patrick Kane’s overtime goal that clinched the Cup.  Last night, it was two goals 17 seconds apart by Bryan Bickell and Dave Bolland that secured the Stanley Cup as carry-on luggage for the trip back to O’Hare.  Congratulations to owner Rocky Wirtz, team president John McDonough, general manager Stan Bowman, head coach Joel Quenneville, the players and Blackhawks fans throughout Illinois.”


“The Hawks gave fans several memorable moments throughout their Stanley Cup run, including Brent Seabrook’s overtime goal in game 7 to eliminate the Detroit Red Wings, Patrick Kane’s double-overtime goal to complete a hat trick and eliminate the Los Angeles Kings, Andrew Shaw’s triple-overtime goal to win game 1 of the series against Boston and now the late-game heroics of Bickell and Bolland to clinch the championship for Chicago.  The Stanley Cup is coming home to Chicago and Hawks fans can’t wait to celebrate with captain Jonathan Toews, his teammates, and the 35-pound silver guest of honor.”


Kirk said:


“I am thrilled to see the Blackhawks bring the Stanley Cup home to Chicago for the fifth time.  The Blackhawks are the first team in six years to win both the President’s Trophy and the Stanley Cup, proving they had not only the talent but also the stamina, dedication and heart to go the distance. Even when they were pushed to the brink of elimination, they never gave up.”