Durbin, Kirk Introduce Resolution Congratulating Northwestern Women's Lacrosse Team on National Championship

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senators Dick Durbin (D-IL) and Mark Kirk (R-IL) on Friday introduced a resolution congratulating the Northwestern Wildcats on winning the 2012 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse National Championship. Led by head coach Kelly Amonte Hiller and reigning national player of the year Shannon Smith, the Northwestern Wildcats defeated Syracuse University 8-6 on May 27, 2012. The Northwestern team has won seven of the last eight women’s lacrosse national championships.


“This year, the Northwestern women’s lacrosse team continued their reign of dominance by winning an impressive seventh national championship title. This is a great feat for any collegiate sports team, and we would like to commend both the players and their coach, Kelly Amonte Hiller, for the hard work and dedication they put in this season. Congratulations to the Northwestern Wildcats and to all the fans, players, and coaches who competed in the 2012 NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Division I Championship Tournament,” the Senators said.