Durbin Reminds Illinoisans of July 24 FEMA Aid Registration Deadline

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] - U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) today encouraged Illinoisans affected by the storms bringing flash and river flooding between April 16th and May 5th to apply for disaster aid from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) by the July 24th deadline.  To be considered for Federal disaster aid, residents must apply with FEMA even if they have already provided damage information to other agencies or organizations.


“This spring’s storms and floods are far behind us, but there are still two days left to apply for federal financial assistance,” said Durbin, “I encourage every Illinois resident that was impacted by the storms to apply today for federal disaster aid to help them recover.”


Residents can apply for Federal disaster aid in any of three ways:


Individual Assistance Eligibility


Individuals and businesses in the following counties have been declared eligible for Individual Assistance: Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Clark, Cook, Crawford, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kane, Kendall, Knox, La Salle, Lake, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.  Individual Assistance funding provides assistance to individuals and businesses to help with temporary housing, home repairs or replacement and other disaster-related expenses. 


Public Assistance Eligibility


The following counties have been declared eligible for Public Assistance: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Clark, Crawford, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Kendall, Knox, La Salle, Lake, Lawrence, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Monroe, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Shelby, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Will and Woodford.  Public Assistance eligibility allows the State of Illinois, local governments, and certain non-profit organizations to apply for grants through the Federal Emergency Management Agency to help with debris removal, emergency protective measures, and the repair, replacement, or restoration of disaster-damaged, publicly owned facilities.


Hazard Mitigation Assistance Eligibility


All Illinois counties have been designated for Hazard Mitigation Assistance areas which include funding for measures designed to reduce future losses to public and private property.