Durbin: Senate Confirms McPherson to be US Marshal in Northern District

[WASHINGTON, D.C.] – U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) today announced that the United States Senate approved Darryl McPherson to serve as U.S. Marshal in the Northern District of Illinois. 

“Darryl McPherson will bring a great deal of knowledge and experience from his many years of service to the position of U.S. Marshal in the Northern District,” said Durbin.  “Darryl has established a reputation for responsibility and professionalism in the law enforcement community. It was an honor recommending his name to President Obama. I am confident that he will do an excellent job.”

McPherson has served as a Deputy U.S. Marshal in Chicago since 1999, and in 2007 was promoted to the position of Deputy U.S. Marshal Senior Inspector.  He served as the lead Deputy Marshal for Judge Joan Lefkow and won a Special Recognition award from the Department of Justice for his service.  He has served on the U.S. Marshals Service Great Lakes Fugitive Task Force, and he has been active in the community, serving as chair of the Security Advisory Committee of the Union League Boys & Girls Club, as a mentor for at-risk youth in the Cal Ripken, Sr. Foundation “Badges for Baseball” program, and as a member of the steering committee of the Black and Hispanic Achievers Program.

Last year, Durbin established three bipartisan screening committees to assist in selecting Federal District Court Judges, U.S. Attorneys, and U.S. Marshals for Illinois. The screening committees were comprised of 22 distinguished Illinoisans drawn from various aspects of the legal profession and include former judges, prominent litigators, law professors, bar association leaders and former prosecutors and defenders.  Former federal judge and Illinois Congressman Abner Mikva chaired the Northern District Screening Panel.

The screening committees reviewed applications and references, conducted interviews and recommended the names of several individuals for each vacancy.  Durbin reviewed the screening committees’ recommendations, conducted interviews of finalists, and in consultation with members of the Illinois Congressional delegation, submitted the finalists’ names to the President, who makes the final decisions on nominations.