Durbin Statement On Biden Administration's Announcement To Ban Russian Oil Imports

WASHINGTONU.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), Co-Chair of the Senate Ukraine Caucus, released the following statement after the Biden Administration announced a ban to Russian oil imports:


“I applaud the Biden Administration’s announcement to ban Russian oil imports. We cannot continue to purchase millions of barrels of oil to help fund Putin’s unprovoked and unjustified war.  This is another important step in tightening economic pressure on Putin and his cowardly enablers and helping support the brave Ukrainian people and President Zelensky.”


Durbin is a cosponsor of the bipartisan Ban Russian Energy Imports Act, introduced by Senators Joe Manchin (D-WV) and Lisa Murkowski (R-AK).  The legislation prohibits the importation of Russian crude oil, petroleum, petroleum products, liquefied natural gas (LNG), and coal.