Durbin Urges Judiciary Committee Members to Support Monaco and Gupta Nominations for Justice Department

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senate Majority Whip Dick Durbin (D-IL), Chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee, today called on his Senate colleagues in the Judiciary Committee to support the nominations of Lisa Monaco to be U.S. Deputy Attorney General and Vanita Gupta to be U.S. Associate Attorney General.  Durbin argued that Monaco and Gupta are the experienced and dedicated leaders we need to restore integrity and independence to the Department of Justice.  The Judiciary Committee is set to vote on their nominations next Thursday, March 25.

“He [Attorney General Garland] needs a team and he has asked us to hurry, if we can, to provide him with the key people that he needs to hit the ground running.  We have two of those nominees listed on the agenda today—Lisa Monaco and Vanita Gupta—and with a third on the way, Kristen Clarke,” Durbin said.  “All three are veterans of the Justice Department. They understand the crucial role that career employees play. They understand fidelity to the rule of law.  And they are unquestionably well qualified.  They are outstanding nominees to occupy leadership spots at the Department.”

Durbin also addressed a few of the false attacks that are being leveled against Vanita Gupta.

“Ms. Gupta’s career has demonstrated her commitment to building consensus and bridging partisan and ideological gaps.  It is rare, if ever, that someone with her background and her reputation in the civil rights community enjoys virtually universal support from law enforcement across the United States.  It speaks to her judgement, her reputation, and the fact that many who don’t customarily endorse Democrats with a civil rights background for these jobs have stepped forward to do so,” Durbin said.  “It’s regrettable that she has been the target of baseless smears, but also telling that she has responded with grace and determination.”

Video of Durbin’s statement in Committee is available here.

Audio of Durbin’s statement in Committee is available here.

Footage of Durbin’s statement in Committee is available here for TV Stations.