Durbin Welcomes New Democratic U.S. Senators

WASHINGTON - U.S. Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL) today issued the following statement after attending the swearing in of the five new Democratic U.S. Senators: Tammy Duckworth (IL), Kamala Harris (CA), Maggie Hassan (NH), Chris Van Hollen (MD), and Catherine Cortez Masto (NV).

“It is an honor to welcome these newly sworn-in Democratic Senators to Washington, especially the arrival of four remarkable women, which raises the number of women in the Senate to an all-time high in U.S. history. All five Senators bring new energy, ideas and a unique experience in public service to our efforts to address the issues facing our nation,” said Durbin.